This tiny domaine has a long, fascinating history. The Guadet family acquired the estate in the mid-15th century at the end of the Hundred years War, the time the Acquitaine returned to France’s control. The Guadet family was important in the area of St. Emilion in the eighteenth century; the elder Guadet was the mayor of St. Emilion and the son became President of the Assembly at the time of the Revolution. In 1794 he and all of his family were captured and beheaded (guillotine). It is his picture which figures on the label.
The Lignac family bought the Chateau in 1844. At that time the Chateau was called Guadet-St. Julien (the latter part being the original name). It has descended from generation to generation since. By way of interesting side-note about the present owner, Guy-Petrus Lignac, his great-aunt (aunt of his father) was Mme. Edmond Loubat, and she acquired the not-then-well-known Chateau Petrus in the late 1920s. The fame of the Chateau all came after she acquired it, and she requested of her nephew that he name his son Petrus (Mme. Loubat had no children). Mr. Lignac had just lost a brother, Guy, in World War II, so taking the two names his son was given the name Guy-Petrus. Guy-Petrus’ father, after the death of his aunt, sold his interest in Chateau Petrus. Guy-Petrus’ son, Vincent, is now in charge of all facets of the estate, including the wine-making.